Friday, July 15, 2011

If you liked Harry Potter

Like the magic and wonder of the Harry Potter series? Sad that it has come to an end? Here are five other series that might also spark your interest:

Green Rider series
by Kristen Britain

In the first book, Green Rider, Karigan G'ladheon meets a dying horseman in the forest on her way home from school. At his request, she takes on a mission to deliver a life or death message to the king. With the help of the ghost of the dead messenger and pursued by supernatural beings, she becomes a member of the Green Riders, an equestrian messenger corps that uses magic.

More about Green Rider

Ender’s Game and Ender’s Shadow
by Orsen Scott Card

Like Harry Potter, Andrew Wiggen, or Ender, is a child with a special destiny. An illegal third child, he is discovered by members of the International Fleet after a fight with a school bully and taken to a space station to train for military command. In the parallel novel, Ender’s Shadow, Bean is an orphan genetically engineered for extreme intelligence. He becomes Ender's friend and lieutenant.

More about Ender's Game

His Dark Materials series
by Phillip Pullman

Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, two twelve-year-olds with daemon animal companions, travel between worlds to rescue kidnapped children from evil experiments, release captive spirits, and recover powerful magical weapons. They are aided by a bevy of beasts and wondrous creatures, including armored bears, former nuns, angels, and a Texas aeronaut.

More about the first book, The Golden Compass

Percy Jackson and the Olympians
by Rick Riordan

In the first book, The Lightning Thief, twelve-year-old Percy learns that he is the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon, god of the sea, and is sent to a summer camp for demigods like himself. He joins his new friends on a quest to prevent a war between the gods.

More about The Lightning Thief

The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme
by Elizabeth Haydon

Venn Polypheme was a hobbit-like, Nain explorer who traveled much of the known and unknown world where magic thrives. Recently discovered by archaeologists, a few fragments of his original journals are reproduced the books The Floating Island, The Thief Queen’s Daughter, and The Dragon’s Lair.

More about the first book, The Floating Island

No comments: